Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Easy as pie!

That phrase really used to puzzle me.  It seemed to me that there was nothing more difficult than consistently making a good pie.  For years I watched my mom throw one together in just a matter of minutes…it looked easy when she did it.  But it never felt easy for me.  Finally, after many years, I asked my mom for her crust recipe (which wasn’t really a recipe ~ she just knew how much of this and that to put in).  Since then I can honestly say that pies have become very easy for me and, of course, the more I make them the easier they get (that really is the key).

So, in honor of National Pie Day it was only fitting to whip up my own pie this morning.  I decided that I needed to make it quick (I’ve really been wanting to make a cream pie ~ maybe next time), so I pulled a jar of my own apple pie filling off of the shelf, made my mom’s crust recipe and in less than 2 minutes (1:55) that pie was ready to go into the oven.  WOW!  The oven hadn’t even finished preheating.

~ right out of the oven ~

~ right out of the oven ~

Here’s my mom’s crust recipe:  2 c. flour + 1 1/2 t. salt = mix   *take a 1 c. glass measuring cup, put 2/3 c. oil in then fill to 1 c. line with milk  ~  add this to the flour and salt, mix well…it will mix into a ball. This will make a double crust.  The part that makes this so quick is that there is no need to refrigerate the dough.

p.s. my favorite pie plate is the Pampered Chef  stoneware deep dish pie plate.

January 23, 2009 - Posted by | domesticity, in the kitchen

7 Comments »

  1. I want some pie!!! You’ve got the stomach of this starving student grumbling 🙂

    Just waiting for my paycheck to come in… my first in over a month!! Maybe I’ll treat myself to a red velvet cupcake at Starbucks 😉

    Comment by Lauren | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Your pie looks so yummy. I may need to run to the store latter to get some apples. Thank you so much of the link to my web page. I miss all of you.

    The post card you sent was so wonderful.

    Comment by Maggie | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. IT LOOKS LIKE OUR MINDS WERE RUNNING IN THE SAME DIRECTION TODAY. I MADE THE TWIN TO YOUR PIE AND IN THE SAME DISH, TOO. YOU ARE A GOOD COOK.

    Comment by Dolly May | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. Look at you with your cute little staged pie photo..cute mug and REALLY cute napkin holder:) MMMM the pie looks good!!

    Comment by Amber Rose | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oh Yum I can almost smell that pie! Looks so delishious!!!
    ~Smiles~Tam!

    Comment by Tam | January 24, 2009 | Reply

  6. I want to try the crust recipe so maybe my family will get pie. So cute and looks yummy!

    Comment by Cyndi Anderson | January 24, 2009 | Reply

  7. @ Tinkerverve : Thank you so much for your visit in my Heart in Provence.
    The boots made by “Trippen“.
    Best wishes.

    Comment by Laeriss | January 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

