Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

A {new} vintage apron ~

apron

This was made completely with vintage fabrics.

apron close-upI was able to get another apron made yesterday.  These are fun for me to make because I don’t have to work with a real pattern with instructions (there is nothing about working through instructions that I find relaxing).  When I make these {vintagy} aprons I gather together a few vintage pieces that work well together and then decide what kind of apron would work best.  I had a Starbucks apron lying around so I used that to cut this one out.    The piece of embroidery is from a dresser scarf.  The first half {actually, 1/3~I have the middle of it left) of this was sewn into this apron.

I pulled Mergie out for this photo – I was getting tired of using those skinny-girl mannequins – {I think I’m feeling a little sensitive about that subject (skinny) right now} – She, although short (as was my great grandma), is a little more real-to-life in size.

January 13, 2009 - Posted by | aprons, bespoke design, sewing, vintage{y} apron

4 Comments »

  1. Love the apron.. your killing me with all these cute vintage aprons! Looks like you are getting back into the groove:)

    Comment by La Te Da | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh thats stinking cute lady.

    Comment by Amber Rose | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. How cute is that! It looks like a dresser scarf you have on the apron. Great idea. I remember working on embroidery like that in the 50s. *sigh*

    Diane

    Comment by Diane | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. That is a DARLING apron! I love it! I want one just like it in pinks! LOL! I love the dresser scarf additions…very ADORABLE…swoon!

    Comment by tattingchic | January 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

