Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Christmas in the Northwest

12/18/08

I can’t even begin to describe how gorgeous it is here in eastern Washington.  We have been blessed with a dumping of snow.  It’s been snowing for more that 24 hours straight and it’s still going.the PERFECT wool afgan

Do you ever go into a thrift store hoping to find a specific item?  Dangerous endeavor.  I do it often but instead of leaving with what I’m looking for, I leave with arm loads of other goodies.  This time, however, I went in looking for a wool (key word – no acrylic here), crocheted, granny-square afgan in oranges, browns…  and look what I came out with.  I love it even more with that touch of robin’s egg blue!   I can’t show it here (yet) but I made a wonderful little something with this for a someone-?-very-?-special.

Holiday Traditions Exchange

My wonderful, homemade gift came from Lauren for the Holiday Traditions Exchange.  She made me this fun, festive & fluffy (you could use those same words to describe me) pillow.  She also send a recipe and a hand written account of her family’s best holiday tradition.  Very nice – Thank you so much Lauren.

December 18, 2008 - Posted by | Christmas, home life, swap, thrifty shopping

7 Comments »

  1. If you want an orange and brown granny square afghan, I still have the almost finished one I started for you probably 25 years ago. The key word, I think is acrylic, not wool, so maybe you don’t want it. I could have it done by Christmas.

    Comment by Dolly May | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. OH MY GOODNESS!!! THE SNOW!!!!

    And I am guessing that it’s not going anywhere for a while! Sad we wont see you on saturday, but we will see you in just over a week!! That is, if we can find the house under all that snow!!

    Love you!

    Comment by Jacklyn | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oooooh! Thanks for the snowy pics! It looks like you got a great gift from your swap! Merry Christmas to you and yours! 🙂

    Comment by tattingchic | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. Can you believe this snow?! We are pretty much stuck here at the house, how about you? It’s just beautiful, and I know all the kids are very happy about no school! Rings & Things in located at: 304 E 2nd. It’s almost directly across the street from the Goodwill. They might have directions on their website at http://www.rings-things.com, but they are really easy to find. Merry Christmas!

    Comment by Fielding | December 18, 2008 | Reply

  5. I can honestly say I know what you mean, we too got snow, 16″ at our house, it is so BEAUTIFUL! I love it! How did your Christmas party go?

    Comment by Stacy | December 19, 2008 | Reply

  6. Lucky you Elaine this is fabulous!!!! You lucky girl.!!! Have a wonderful holiday!

    Comment by jennifer Paganelli | December 19, 2008 | Reply

  7. Its a gift God wrapped in green:)

    Comment by Amber Rose | December 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

