Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

the Stockings are hung~

does that say -9?

Baby, it's cold outside

I finished some Christmas stockings for my niece and her hubby.

wool stockingsI first used this pattern 25 years ago when I made ours and I loved doing cross-stitch.

our stockingsMy sister-in-law taught me how to cross stitch when I was 17 and I did a lot of it until I had my 1st babe @ 23.  After that I had absolutely no interest in it.  I had always planned to make these for our kids but I just couldn’t get passed the idea of cross-stitching their names.  Eventually, I bought these for them.

kids' stockings

When my mom first bought her beautiful computerized Bernina with embroidery capabilities, I started making these stockings (in the 1st pic) for everyone.  I have 29 names listed….but my poor kids never got theirs.  It’s OK, I really don’t feel too bad, afterall, it’s hard to get rid of Christmas decor that holds the memories.  I may make them some ‘grown-up’ stockings someday but I hope that when I do that there will be a twinge of sadness that goes along with their JOY.

December 16, 2008 - Posted by | Christmas, custom, home life, sewing

3 Comments »

  1. Man O Man…
    I thought it was cold here!!
    makes me think twice of buying a place over there…
    I hope your staying warm.

    Comment by Wendy Girl | December 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. It does look cold!!! Brrrrrrrrrrrrr! I am so glad I live in So Cal! LOL! Your stockings are cute! Looks like you are enjoying your sewing machine! I would love one like that! 🙂

    Comment by tattingchic | December 16, 2008 | Reply

  3. I like my Minnie Mouse stocking… no complaints here!!

    My car door wouldn’t shut again this morning… I thought that would desist when I got a new door. I guess not. Oh! The joys of winter 😉

    Comment by lifeofwonder | December 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

