Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

A is for…

side 2

I wished I'd noticed it was blurry before I had it all packaged and ready to mail.

I wished I'd noticed it was blurry before I had it all packaged and ready to mail.

My daughter loves to design custom charms ~ this style is one of her favs.  It becomes a very personal gift.  She had me make this for one of her favorite gals.

These charms are made with 1″ beveled glass, back to back.

gingerbread-housesI spent portions of the past two days working in 2 “Food & Family” classes @ my daughter’s school ~ she is in one of the classes.  Her teacher asked if I would help teach the kids how to make gingerbread houses.  I was thrilled to be asked.  That’s a great place for a mom to hang out & my sweet-16 girl seemed to actually like the fact that I was there.  She, of course, had to make a special call to me (probably during class) to make sure that I didn’t wear anything embarrassing.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

A is for: always trying to be there for my kids …in any possible way, with anything, whenever and however possible...if possible & if practical… (you get the idea)  & all the while…trying not to look stupid or embarrassing! 🙂  (it’s such a challenging job)

December 16, 2008 - Posted by | Christmas, class, family

7 Comments »

  1. Too funny! I know those days are coming with my girls calling me to make sure I don’t embarrass them. I still have to “help” my mom. hehe Love the gingerbread houses!
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | December 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi Elaine,
    It was nice to hear from you. Ive been meaning to post a comment to your blog forever. Its always so much fun to look at all the fun new charms you are creating. You have so many new ideas! We were in Mel’s today, and saw your charms! That is so great, I hope you sell a lot during the holidays! I’m glad to hear that you are going to do the Farm Chicks show, I’m sure you’ll do fantastic. We’ll be there again too. Anyway, I just wanted to say ‘hi’ and wish you a wonderful Christmas!

    Fielding

    Comment by Fielding | December 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. How cool. I think most kids secretly want their parents around – just can’t admit it to their friends. Personally, I threatened to offer to teach “health” when/if I become the boys’ school nurse. Hope you have a great Christmas season.

    Comment by Deb Shirley | December 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. You have been very busy! It looks like a festive time around your house! 🙂

    Comment by tattingchic | December 17, 2008 | Reply

  5. Love the charm! As always, you did wonderful 🙂

    I think our exchange was canceled for tomorrow, but she’ll get it eventually!

    Love you!

    Comment by Lauren | December 17, 2008 | Reply

  6. A teacher too? You are like an octopus.. so many arms going different directions:)
    Hope you are getting alot of stuff done.. I sure am NOT!
    Looking forward to seeing you though:)
    Loves!

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | December 17, 2008 | Reply

  7. I remember taking a cooking class from Verna Dubois at Chewelah High School – that’s great that you were able to help. And the phone call from Lizzie about your wardrobe is so funny. My girls are very vocal about things like that too. Was she thinking you might wear a Santa hat or something? No, never!!

    Comment by Arlene | December 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

