Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

And the winner is: Deb w/contentment! – it was fun to read your words! thanks for sending them my way…

Here are some pics of what I’ve been working on:

workspace

my work is only enhanced with a tall glassed of fresh-off-the-mountain spring water 🙂

most of these should go out in the mail today ~ I will have a few extra Christmas charms if anyone is interested for $20 each

most of these should go out in the mail today ~ I will have a few extra Christmas charms if anyone is interested for $20 each

Zhena's Gypsy Tea ~ Raspberry Earl Grey

Zhena's Gypsy Tea ~ Raspberry Earl Grey

I love to drink tea this time of year. This has become one of my favorites so I thought that I should share it with you. The aroma it gives off just when I take the lid off of the tin is so wonderful. I have enjoyed all of the teas that I’ve tried from this brand and I buy them at the Fred Meyer Nutrition Center.

ready to go into the oven!

ready to go into the oven!

fresh out of the oven!

fresh out of the oven!

I have been making a lot of bread lately. This recipe was given to me when we moved to Alaska which was 1985. I remember trying it then and thinking, “I’m not a very good bread maker”, but I always hung on to the recipe. I tried it again recently (after many years of bread-making experience) and have made it several times. It’s very good and very easy to make. I use a little more ww flour and less white.

Pilgrim’s Bread

  • 1/3 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 Tbls. salt
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 1/4 cup cooling oil
  • 2 packages active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water (110*)
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup rye flour
  • 4 1/4 to 4 1/2 cups unbleached white flour

Thoroughly combine cornmeal, brown sugar, and salt; stir gradually into boiling water. Stir in oil. Cool to lukewarm (about 30 min). Soften yeast in the warm water; stir into cornmeal mixture. Add whole wheat and rye flours; mix well. Mix in enough white flour to make a moderately stiff dough. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface; knead till smooth and elastic (6-8 min) *this was written before Kitchenaid Mixers, Bosch, etc…. 🙂 Let rise in warm place until double in size. Shape into 2 loaves place in 2 greased pans. Cover and let rise until almost double (about 30 min). Bake @ 375* till done, about 45 min. (it’s 35 for me). If bread browns rapidly, cap loosely with foil after first 25 minutes. Remove from pans and cool on wire racks. (I melt butter over the top when still hot).

Yum!! Can’t you just smell it!

November 24, 2008 - Posted by | domesticity, in the kitchen, recipe

5 Comments »

  1. I am so excited! My first blog comment win.
    And, the word “joy” has a special meaning to my family – so much so that growing up it was the name of my parents’ business (Joy Printing). Thanks Elaine.

    Comment by Deb Shirley | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Cute charms! Congrats to the winners! I have those same loaf pans. They make the BEST bread. Mine are from Pampered Chef, how about you?

    Comment by tattingchic | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. I can smell it so not kidding…

    Comment by jennifer Paganelli | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  4. I remember making that same bread as a young wife and thinking I would never be able to make bread.I think it is time I tried it again. I just need to find some rye. It looks so pretty. It’s been awhile since I baked some bread. I wonder if they would make good Thanksgiving rolls?

    Comment by Cyndi Anderson | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  5. Oh, yum! I can smell the bread!

    Have you tried Pomegranate tea yet? One of my favorites!

    Diane

    Comment by Diane | November 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

