Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Sunday Inspiration!

church pics

Today was a wonderful day for me.  Have you ever had one of those days where you think, “This has to be one of the best days of my life?”  It seemed as though my life, up to this point, came to a certain culmination today.  I’ve mentioned bits and pieces over the months of what Mr T & I have been up to but, we left a church in January where we had been pastors for 11+ years, not knowing what our next step was in ministry.   Without a Sunday off, we began an interim position at a little church, 25 minutes from where our new home was.  The unique thing about this church is that it is the church where my dad pastored when we were growing up.  It was my childhood home and church.  As we began our ministry, it didn’t take us long at all to discover that we loved this wonderful group of people and were quite willing to stick with them for as long as God would have us be here.  So, today we were installed as the pastors.  It was rather emotional for both us, for different reasons.  For me, it was amazing to see a FULL sanctuary with so many people who have impacted my life in a very real and personal way over a 45 year period, from family to friends.  I was able to sing a song with my sis and my parents were recognized with gratitude for the impact they had made through their ministry on this community.  I shed a few tears and smiled a lot and left with a VERY full heart.  It’s hard to even begin to share this all here because it is so personal and my words are so inadequate to describe how I feel.

installation

We had a very diligent photographer (flash, flash, flash….) but we didn’t end up with a lot of great pics.  Here’s a pic of me with the photographer!

me with the girl!

at one point I had to give her the evil-eye look with the hand motioning to slow it down – then I got the evil eye back…it’s just the sweet dynamics of the *pk-pw/mom relationship.  🙂  gotta love it!

*(pk=pastor’s kid  pw=pastor’s wife)

November 17, 2008 - Posted by | Sunday Inspiration!

7 Comments »

  1. Congratulations, Elaine. I pray that God continues to bless you and your ministry.

    Comment by Deb Shirley | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oh, that girl…

    Comment by Lauren | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. Awe Lizzy..some things will never ever change!!
    Congrats..lady I think you have offically come full circle, I’m sure your heart is light!

    Comment by Amber Rose | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. Congratulations! God is awesome.

    Comment by Michelle | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  5. Amber is right. Full Circle is the only thing I could think of. I am so happy for you and Mr. T.
    I also have to throw in how You girls are sooooo beautiful…

    Comment by Wendy Girl | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  6. Sweet Elaine,

    It was SUCH a privilege for us to be part of this special day! We are so proud of you and Pastor T for the amazing impact you are having on that community. And what a joy to enjoy your warm hospitality and fabulous food (despite the fact that we undoubtedly brought some extra pounds home with us!). You are some of our dearest friends in the world and we love you and are cheering you on! (And love that Lizzy, too! She’s a blast!) Hugs, ~J

    Comment by Jodi | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  7. well aren’t i just the sexiest thing you ever saw

    Comment by Libby Tolson | November 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

