Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

ahhh yes…therapy!…my own kind, of course

suitcase collectionOK…I know I have some problems…it just seems that if I like something, I can’t help but buy more and more and more, especially when I can buy it for a good price.  (the people who helped me move would LOVE to tell you all about my problems)  The two at the top I added today for $1 each – how could a girl leave them there for that?…especially when I read a post like this – but I wonder how could I ever rip that sweet little pocket out of the inside?  I haven’t ever mentioned my collection of vintage underwear and I’m talking about longjohns.  Who collects vintage longjohns?  I promise it wasn’t intentional…it just happened.  I’ll show pics someday.  Not sure what the best type of therapy is for this but…that will have to be addressed on a different day.

Here’s another lovely purchase from today.  I wish this first pic wasn’t so blurry.

vintage wedding dress

vintage wedding dress

And it came with the ever-so-gorgeous veil and these ‘things’ that button up and go on the arms…I just don’t know what to call them.

accessories to the vintage wedding dress

Truth be told – ‘thrifty’ shopping is the BEST kind of therapy.  I just love it!  These items (& more) came from an incredible estate sale and today was ‘day 2’ so I got some great deals.

November 8, 2008 - Posted by | thrifty shopping, Uncategorized, vintage

7 Comments »

  1. Where the heck do you find these things! I live in the same area as you, but I sure don’t find this great stuff!

    Comment by Nichole B. | November 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. Word of warning, I love vintage suitcases. You may need to count yours after I leave you place next time!

    Comment by Nichole B. | November 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. I totally share the same problem as you. hehe Your suitcases are darling. Oh, and that wedding dress – aahhh… Thanks for your visit, I appreciated your sweet comment. I did make the baby quilt from all vintage chenille. Ya see, that’s my obsession – I can’t get enough of the stuff. hehe
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | November 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. Mums the word from this girl that helped you move. 🙂 My lips are sealed with your “problems”.
    The suitcases are very cool! The dress… hmm.. Im just not seeing the “beauty” in it.. but Im sure you will do something DARLING with it! Christmas dress maybe? 🙂
    Good news is, The first step to HELP is admitting you have a problem.
    Check!

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | November 9, 2008 | Reply

  5. OMGoodness!!! I wouldn’t have passed these goodies up either! You GO girl….It’s good, clean, cheap fun! I know it’s hard to take that pocket out but the result is amazing (pick the one you like the least to start with!)….xxoo, Dawn

    Comment by Dawn @ The Feathered Nest | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  6. OOOH! Love the suitcases! Perfect to decoupage on! And what a price! They make wonderful end tables.

    Diane

    Comment by Diane Knott | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. Thats my kind of therapy! I love old suitcases. I cant wait to see what you do with that wedding gown!!

    Comment by Leslie | November 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

