Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

While the hubby’s away…

…the wife shall play.  I came home last night, after spending the evening with my parents, to a living/dining room that was still set up for sewing (because of the stocking class that I had).  It just sucked me in and I started dreaming about what I could make.  I thought for a while about window treatments…you may have noticed in that last post that I have NONE!  I also want to make this or something out of this but since it was a little late I just dove into another apron (that’s been a stormin’ in my brain), and ended up with this…  (I am so visual and I love big pics, especially when there is detail to show off…so here you go)

apron

I mentioned that I wanted to try adding a side towel to my aprons.  Sometimes I just put a loop on the side for hanging a towel ~ I even read about one once that had a potholder sewn into the front bottom so you always have one handy.  I guess I’ve had this challenge going on in my head for literally years to come up with an apron that is extremely functional but yet adorable. This one isn’t too bad.  I wear an apron just about everyday and I’m always needing to wipe my hands and there’s never a potholder close enough when that timer goes off.   I actually made this one for me but the main fabric, which is a wonderful, worn barkcloth, is a bad color on me.  Some of the other things in this apron worth mentioning: I’ve used the end of an embroidered dresser scarf on the front with a pocket added from the barkcloth, a linen napkin for the towel and some Amy Butler fabrics to finish it off.

apron close-up

I decided to post a pic of my Weekender Bag because it goes so well with this apron (not sure on what occasion I might use them both at the same time but…) and I made it before I started my blog so I haven’t ever shown it here.  I absolutely love this bag and I use it all the time.

Weekender Bag

November 7, 2008 - Posted by | aprons, sewing, vintage, vintage{y} apron

8 Comments »

  1. You’re giving me all kinds of ideas for using the pillowcases, napkins, and other embroidered things things I “inherited” from my mother-in-law and grandmother-in-law. How cool to re-use for Christmas gifts for family members. Hmmm. I’ll have to get creative with my linen closet and dust off the old sewing machine.

    Comment by Deb Shirley | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Tinker, a perfect touch – the towel! I love the way you took the vintage table runner and used it in the center of the apron.

    Why…I know the best place to carry your tote and wear the apron…at an apron-making class of course! 😉

    Diane

    Comment by Diane Knott | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi, I received my apron today, it is LOVELY…I just love it, what a treat, thank you!

    Comment by kristine hanson | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. Oh, that bag is so cute! The apron is adorable too. You are one, special, talented friend.

    Comment by Cyndi Anderson | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’ve always loved that bag.and great apron! Lady if you were not my dear friend i just might have to be really jealous of your skills..but instead I’m just happy to know ya!! (and be glad that you give really nice gifts!!)

    Comment by Amber Rose | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  6. That pot holder is a super cool idea.
    I have the same problem, always walking of with the pot holder and then not being able to find one..

    Comment by Wendy Girl | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  7. I love all the details in the aprons, and the potholder and towel are brilliant! I am always laying them down and can’t find them when I need them. That bag is awesome, love the material. You are good at what you do!

    Comment by Leslie | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  8. […] I was able to get another apron made yesterday.  These are fun for me to make because I don’t have to work with a real pattern with instructions (there is nothing about working through instructions that I find relaxing).  When I make these {vintagy} aprons I gather together a few vintage pieces that work well together and then decide what kind of apron would work best.  I had a Starbucks apron lying around so I used that to cut this one out.    The piece of embroidery is from a dresser scarf.  I first half was sewn into this apron. […]

    Pingback by A {new} vintage apron ~ « Tinker Verve | January 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

