Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

There is NOTHING better than wonderful fabric!

…OK, maybe there are things that are better and more important and….BUT… (I really have no words to explain myself)

I feel like I’m strangling because I don’t have time to sit down and make anything.

  • My Christmas stocking class is tomorrow and although I’m fairly prepared for the class, my house is a mess and I need to prepare a meal for it.
  • I’m preparing a meal for a small-group study @ church tonight.
  • My calendar is full until after Thanksgiving with guests who are coming (a lot of them hunters) and all of this (and more) makes me feel a little stressed out.  If I could just find a few hours to sew it would all be better ~ it kind of becomes a stress-reliever (and, yes, as with other stress-relievers, it is quite addicting).

Yesterday I placed my first-ever online fabric order…I went to quilthome.com.  Boy, that was a tough one for me because I have to see, touch, smell…(you get the picture…it’s an experience!) my fabrics before buying them, but, I had two reasons for doing it. 1) I fell in love with Anna Maria Horner’s fabrics months ago on-line, in fact her blog quickly became a fav, but I hadn’t ever seen or experienced them in person.  It’s part of my new life of ‘living remote’ and along with this ‘new life’ I need to do less shopping, in general, and with the ‘less’, do more of that on-line.  Also, I can’t go into an average fabric store these days and find the kinds of fabrics that have become my favorites. 2) the other reason I wanted to place this order is because I realized that quilthome.com not only carries all of these most wonderful fabrics, from the newest, cutting-edge designers, but they also happen to be {practically} in my back yard (when I walked in the gal there said, because of my address, “do you know DB?”, I said, “yes, he’s my dad!”).  🙂  I love my life!! :O)  So, I went in to pick up my fabric and I was able to EXPERIENCE some of the other wonderful fabrics.  I’m telling you gals, this is the place to go ~ and the wonderful thing is, it doesn’t matter where you live.

I also went to my favorite 2nd hand shop.  Because I have finally been working with my idea of blending old and new to make aprons, it gave me permission to buy more old.  I also picked up a few linen napkins because I have been wanting to sew in a little side towel into the apron and thought that these might work nicely.

the 4 dresden plate vintage quilt blocks that I got (for $4), are making me crazy.  I love beautiful vintage cottons even more than I love these new contemporary fabrics.

The 4 dresden plate vintage quilt blocks that I got (for $4), are making me crazy. I love beautiful vintage cottons even more than I love these new contemporary fabrics.

Did I say that I have house work to do?   …better get to it!

November 5, 2008 - Posted by | glorious fabric, sewing, vintage

2 Comments »

  1. Sewing as a stress reliever? That made me smile and I needed to smile today. The only time I feel homicidal is when I sew! I love you sister and am praying you get through this busy day.It’s busy on this end as well. Don’t you just love old linens? They are some of my favorite things. I don’t have any but I love to look at them!

    Comment by Cyndi | November 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. I just had to laugh when I read your comment about having to touch fabric….I am the same way…I wander the fabric store viewing all the eye candy and touching them, It is such an uplift just walking around the fabric…but hands down nothing beats vintage linens! All the embroidery handwork…the soft age of the linen and warm tinting …they just oooze charm

    Comment by themermaidstale | November 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

