Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Just a LITTLE something!

Potholders!  I love potholders! I love domesticity and they slip right into that so well, along with aprons, apple pies and fresh rolls.  I use them nearly everyday and mine always look so gross.  When I moved in January, one of my sweet friends, Marie, gave me a cookbook and some potholders she had made.  I love them.  I’ve been wanting to make some like them so here is my twist on it.

front

back

I can’t really keep this though…it belongs to the Dish.  You see, about a year and a half ago she gave me a bag of her husband’s pant that all need repairing.  I was so incredibly busy at the time planning a mother/daughter tea that I never even opened the bag.  Weeks turned into months…..until I moved.  I told her that I wasn’t going to be repairing these pants and that they were actually beyond repair but I couldn’t bear to throw them away because there was so much fabric in that bag and maybe (you know the thoughts) I could do SOMETHING with them SOMEDAY.  Someday was yesterday and I started pawing through the bag (they really are beyond repair).  I knew that if I made a potholder that it needed to go to this sweet friend of mine because her babe is gone such long days and I knew that she would think it was so special to have this piece of him so that she could feel close to him at all times.  {just tell Trace that he can pass any of his old jeans on to me, but he needs to go easier on them!}.

This was such a fast and fun little project.  I may start making a bunch just to give away at Christmas.  It’s a great way to use up scraps.

November 1, 2008 - Posted by | friends, sewing

4 Comments »

  1. awww! I love it!!! What a great idea! I will soo enjoy having his little butt pocket right in the palm of my hand!
    You are a dear friend. I miss you greatly these last few weeks.
    Mucho Love!! AND I think you need to make every wife a potholder from her Hubby’s jeans 🙂

    Comment by La~Te~Da | November 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. I use your valentine’s day potholder all of the time, and smile when I do!! Cute stuff girly:)

    Comment by Amber Rose | November 1, 2008 | Reply

  3. Just love the denim side! I know what you mean about how grubby they get! It makes it hard to use the really pretty ones, doesn’t it.
    Diane

    Comment by Diane Knott | November 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Oh, how I love potholders! I love them, love them,love them. They make me smile!

    Comment by Cyndi Anderson | November 2, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

