Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

There’s a give-a-way!…right here!!!

On October 30th {that’s tomorrow} I’m going to have a party to celebrate my 1st year of blogging and YOU might just be the one to get the gift.

Sometimes I can make something that just mades me giddy –  I know that the reason for my giddy-ness is two-fold therefore causing it to be much more intense.

1) I haven’t really done much sewing since I moved – in January.  Setting up a my sewing area just hasn’t been a priority.  It seems that the ‘charming’ portion of my life has been more demanding.  Well, I mentioned in an earlier post that sewing is really my [creative] 1st love.  I learned when I was about 9 and I love it – I love nearly everything about it (except the tearing out – my mother’s voice is always in my head though, “If you’re going to sew then you’re going to tear out”).  A couple of days ago I began to set up my sewing area and I have just been itching to sit down and sew something.  I can’t explain the excitement I felt when I sat down to take my first stitch. (I know…I am so over-the-top…helpless, some people say)  I know that I had this silly smile on my face the whole time I was make that apron.

2) I have had the ‘idea’ for the apron in my head for months.  I wanted to make one with a separate, free-hanging pocket in the front.  I also want to make them with 2nd-hand fabrics.  I love how this turned out.  I really think that the main fabric I used is 100% linen and everything in it except the beautiful fabrics on the outside of the pocket {Jennifer Paganelli/SisBoom/GirlFriends} and the thread came from thrift stores.

I would have a hard time giving this away except that from the moment last night I decided to make it, I knew I was making it for one of you.  To win this cute, lovely, adorable and win-able apron, just leave an ever-so-sweet comment today or tomorrow and then on Oct. 31st, I will announce a winner. – Make sure that your comment links me to you or leave your e-mail.  Good Luck!

A picture of the nest w/egg that I found a couple of days ago...abandoned, of course!

A picture of the nest w/egg that I found a couple of days ago...abandoned, of course!

October 29, 2008 - Posted by | blogging, garden, give-a-way, sewing, vintage{y} apron

12 Comments »

  1. Hey Tinker! Super sweet apron! You SHOULD be giddy. :o)

    Comment by craftapple | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. The apron is adorable.I cannot relate to being excited about sewing but I am inspired by all of you creative people in my life to become as creative as I can. Thanks for all of the inspirations you have given me over the years. I love the birds nest, so sweet and sad at the same time. One of my favorite items of the day is checking your blog. Happy one Year!

    Comment by Cyndi | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. Happy 1st blogger Birthday!! yipee!
    You know HOW cute that apron would look on my apron rack!!
    Oh’ I love it!!
    Your blog is an inspiration to many!! Keep up the good work! I miss you! And the nest is fun too.. although the egg does make me alittle sad. 😦
    Mucho Love!

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  4. Oh, look at that precious nest with the Robin’s egg! How sweet looking. How sad that it was abandoned. The apron looks adorable! You did such a good job on that! I can’t wait to come and visit your party tomorrow. I’ll check back with you!

    Comment by tattingchic | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  5. I will never stop thanking God for bringing your family into my life. Not to sound over the top, but it’s important to me that you know 🙂 You introduced me to a WHOLE-WIDE world of sewing I didn’t know existed and who knows, I may never have made it to the place I’m at today! Sewing is something I hope I may never have to live without, it’s blessing to me everytime I sit down in front of my sewing machine. So yes, I can completely understand how you felt making that beautiful apron. May God bless you and your wonderful family! Miss you lots!

    Comment by Charity | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  6. Ok everyone is saying really nice things..but really I just want that stinking apron!! It’s too cute!!

    Comment by Amber Rose | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  7. That apron is adorable! Congratulations on your 1 year blogging anniversary.

    Comment by jennifer | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  8. Look at that apron..a work of art!! Thanks for sharing with me xoxoxoxoxJennifer

    Comment by jennifer Paganelli | October 30, 2008 | Reply

  9. Congratulations on your first year! What a beautiful apron. I love the fabrics, my favorite color!!

    Comment by Leslie | October 30, 2008 | Reply

  10. Oh I could not imagine not sewing at least once each day. Congratualtions on your blog! I check it every day for a little inspiration. The only apron I have is one from Ikea. I sure could use a cute little apron to fix breakfast for my family in the morning. And maybe it would inspire me to make some for others.

    Comment by Michelle | October 30, 2008 | Reply

  11. I love looking at your blog, found it after I met you at the Vintage barn sale (you made me a few custom charms too) The apron is adorable!! P.S. I noticed you mentioned The Top Stitch in Spokane awhile ago….I subscribe to her blog too and they are moving into a bigger location, FYI!

    Kristine

    Comment by kristine hanson | October 30, 2008 | Reply

  12. Happy One Year!
    Love to visit your blog…
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the beautiful nest!

    Wishing you the best~
    Michelle

    Comment by Michelle Palmer Petals & Palettes | October 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

