Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Autumn Decor!

It’s been fun to add little vignettes with autumn decor here and there~inside and out.  I’ve been wanting to make a banner for several months. In fact, I got these funny glass pieces that are parts of a broken lamp shade.

I can’t explain why I bought them but once I had them here I pictured them as the base to a banner.  Using their shape I began to collage each section for this banner.  I don’t have pics of each one individually but here is one close-up.

One of the fun details that I did around the punched hole at the top of each piece was to run a strip of tatted lace so that the center hole lined up with the punched hole.  It’s so cute!…but my pic is blurry – oh maybe I’ll show it anyway…

I didn’t leave the purple rope in, but you get the idea.  These next pics also aren’t the greatest but it’s what I’ve got.  The glass pieces made it real heavy and awkward but once I had it in place I liked it.

and to pull away for the full effect….

I’ve got to give that guy up there a name!…I also need to add some fun decor under the banner.

I forgot to mention yesterday that I picked up the new release of Somerset Life.  It’s such a great publication.  I’m going to link you to the post @ The Feathered Nest, where I first saw it and promptly added it to my going-to-the-big-city shopping list.  Dawn’s portion of this magazine is actually my favorite anyway…rag ball ornaments, Advent calendar, mitten ornaments…  There are some great Christmas ideas.

I tip toed over to this blog today.  I love her ‘Miss Oct 31st’ banner on her dress form.  I think that AnnaLeigh needs one of those.

Have a joyful, autumn, crafty weekend!

October 24, 2008 - Posted by | autumn decor, collage, home life, vintage

4 Comments »

  1. too cute! Love it!
    You are just soo crafty!
    Went and saw HS musical 3 tonight in my jammies! Made me miss you soo much, wishing you were there(I even talked about you to some strangers:) ha!
    Mucho Love!

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | October 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Your banner is fun and whimsical looking! I like the way you added the snippits of tatted lace to the top…like a hole reinforcer! LOL! Where did you get the tatting?

    Comment by tattingchic | October 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. Tinker….the banner looks wonderful. And what a great fireplace you have. It looks like a cozy place to curl up with a good book and a cup of tea.

    Prayers for your friend…..

    Diane

    Comment by Diane Knott | October 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. LOVE the banner!! WAY cute!!

    Comment by Amber Rose | October 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

