Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Sunday Inspiration!

This bit of inspiration is coming late in the day because it’s been a full and very wonderful day.  I’m actually going to share a few points from our service today at church where Mr T did a great job of delivering an inspired sermon.

Embracing A Life of Service

1) I was created to serve: Ephesians 2:10 {we’ve been gifted to serve} we must recognize that we are significant 1 Peter 4:10 {the abilities I have are meant to be a blessing to others}

2) Serving others is one of the ways I serve the Lord: Colossians 3:23-24 {do all as unto the Lord – doing it for the ‘least of these’ means doing it directly for Christ}

3) My service is needed by others: 1 Corinthians 12:27 {together we are one body} Galatians 6:10 {be kind to all, especially other believers}

4) Serving makes my life meaningful!: Mark 8:35

5) I will be held accountable & I will be rewarded for my service: Romans 14:12 {we will all give an account} John 12:26 {the Father will honor} Matthew 25:23 {I want to hear “well done…enter into the joy of the Lord”}

There was no excuse to leave this one wondering what it meant and how can I apply it to my life…I am personally challenged and maybe as I pass it on, you can also feel challenged.  I would desire that each one of you may ‘enter into the joy of the Lord’.

We are currently pastoring the church where I spent my childhood.

We are currently pastoring the church where I spent my childhood.

These 3 crosses were built next to our church in memory of my grandfather.  He was a part of this church from the time he became a Christ follower and he actually built this building we are meeting in.

These 3 crosses were built next to our church in memory of my grandfather. He was a part of this church from the time he became a Christ follower and he actually built this building we are meeting in about 37 years ago.

This is a picture of the mountain where I live.

This is a picture of the mountain that I live on. We are nestled in that dense grove of Tamaracks. You can see the roof of our shop.

October 19, 2008 - Posted by | home life, Sunday Inspiration!

5 Comments »

  1. I was challenged about serving yesterday. I heard a song on the radio that inspired me. It said that I would never regret giving every bit of my life to Jesus but I would and do certainly regret holding back. Your post was just another reminder of the truth of that. Thank You! What beautiful pictures. I missed you today. Everything is changing and I am struggling with it all. You don’t know what you treasure until it isn’t there.

    Comment by Cyndi Anderson | October 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi sweetie . . You really know how to make your mom cry! Just thinking about how God has blessed us with YOU! Also thinking about how you and Mr. T are pastoring the church that our family built and your dad and I were pastors there for 10 years. The crosses really did it. I have such good memories of my dad (and mom) and what great role models they were. I miss them, but I am so grateful for the upbringing they gave me. Thanks for being a loving daughter and we love you very much.

    Comment by Dolly May | October 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Just beautiful Elaine, and very inspiring.

    Comment by Teresa Sheeley | October 20, 2008 | Reply

  4. This is a really great on for me Elaine.
    I love to hear something From the Good Ol Mr T. We sure Miss hearing him on Sundays. (Brad really misses his stories. Like the one about the fishing boat and the rock. He always reminds me about that one.)

    #4 is for me. I didnt know what life was truly about until I started Giving my time away. I always thought it was about me. Wow was I ever wrong. I sure am happy that god put me in a spot to realize that. Cuz I was missing out.

    Comment by Wendy Girl | October 20, 2008 | Reply

  5. Good post lady:) Just last week The Husband and I were awaken from our year of “non-service”. Seriously am I not sooo glad Jesus did not take a year off from me?!?!
    Maybe one day I will get this..

    Comment by Amber Rose | October 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

