Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

May my home fires burn!

I feel as though this year of 2008 has been one big whirlwind…a wonderful whirlwind, but a swirly, crazy whirlwind even still.  We made a major move in January – from the city to the country – 5 hours away.  We have loved living in this beautiful country setting where we have every intention of NEVER leaving.  However, still live in craziness from the move ~ I did many wonderful antique-type shows throughout the summer that required a great deal of charming work and I’ve just been on the go.  When I haven’t been going I’ve been getting ready to go.  I constantly remind myself that moving here was suppose to allow for a more stay-at-home life.  I’m not giving up on that dream and I just have to creatively work out the details for that. But today, oh, today…I am home.  I have some custom charms to catch up on and as I perused a couple of new and very inspiring blogs this weekend I am anxious to do this bit of creating myself.  I’m also moving my creative, little thoughtful spot..again.  It’s currently out in my dining/living area and {of course} it’s always an amazing and wonderful MESS!…back into the laundry room I go….where I can shut the door AND open the window.  Soldering ALWAYS requires an open window so I’m limited as to where I can have my make-shift, on-the-move studio.  It’s a chilly, happy day here at home and I just had to start a fire to make my day complete!

Enjoy this Monday and stay warm!

Autumn Goodness!

Autumn Goodness!

October 13, 2008 - Posted by | home life

2 Comments »

  1. Tinker, Hi again! 🙂 To answer your questions about painting the clock, etc….I used acrylics. I used a craft acrylic stain to rub on them after I painted them off-white. Then, when they were dry, I rubbed on a brown antique paste wax and buffed them to a nice mellow shine.

    I’ve also used house paints in my crafts! Paint is paint! Except oil paint, which takes forever to dry whether it’s artists’ oils or oil paint in the can.

    When we wholesaled our wooden crafts (signs) and furniture, we always used plain old acrylic or latex house paints and the antique wax as a finish.

    The advantage of the quick-drying acrylics – if you don’t like the way it looks, you can paint over it as soon as it dries.

    Hope this helps! 🙂
    Diane

    Comment by Diane Knott | October 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. I heart you 🙂

    Comment by Lauren | October 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

