Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

I’ve got cabin fever!

Completing the cabin…It’s all I have time to do right now.  But it’s fun and very rewarding…and a long time coming.  We are scheduled to have guests in it one week from today.  I’m only going to share just a few pics because it’s still a mess and I want to do some nice pics when I ‘tell the story’.

This is trail up the hill to the cabin:

This kitchen sink I drug off of the rotting back porch of an old homestead.  I fought all along the way to have this in the cabin (and must I mention that I won ~ although I suppose it’s worth mentioning that the old salvaged bathroom sink is still lying under it).  We had the kitchen built around it.  Because of it, the kitchen is one of the finest features (even if I do say so!).  🙂

I remember the day (somewhere close to 1970) when my mom unwrapped these brand new dishes.  They were in our home for many years.  It’s amazing that there are still so many.  I would have certainly went through a time when I thought they were ugly but today I think they are beautiful!

The cabin has a loft just for sleeping.  Jim (our friend who is working on it) built the railing this week and attached the ladder to the wall.

I’ve been ‘listening’ to fun movies (the last one Enchanted) that make me laugh as the fumes from the polyurethane are sinking in deep.

October 4, 2008 - Posted by | home life, just plain fun |

3 Comments »

  1. O man. I want a sink like that so bad.

    Comment by Wendy Girl | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  2. :)For some reason this makes me miss you..

    Comment by Amber Rose | October 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. Just out of curiosity…do you still have it?

    Comment by Rachael | August 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

