Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

More home-canned goodness

I am blessed to have such a wonderful mother-in-law.  She is a Godly, gracious woman and has added so much to our lives.  One of the things that she is passing on to us is an appreciation for corn relish.  She cans it each year and serves it with each holiday meal.  It seems those meals just wouldn’t be the same without it.  Last night was my time to make my one batch of corn relish…so out to the patch I go (with my dad) to pick and husk the corn.

I absolutely love having our own corn!

I absolutely love having our own corn!

simmering corn relish

simmering corn relish

Oh! So beautiful!

Oh! So beautiful!

As I was making this last night I was reminded of the time I packed up all of my ingredients and carted them over to a friend‘s house late at night and made it there.  I can’t remember why I did this because we froze corn all that day at my house but all in all I just enjoy the good memories!  🙂

One of the most enjoyable aspects of canning is listening for the “POP” as the lid seals!!!!

September 25, 2008 - Posted by | domesticity, garden, home life, in the kitchen

1 Comment »

  1. I remember that night too:) Gradma’s small but mighty kitchen and corn relish till midnight!!

    Comment by Amber Rose | September 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

