Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Hey Friends!

My sales over the weekend were quite meager but I have been promised several custom orders out of the deal and the optimist in me says that I would do it again next year.  The thing that brought balance to this time away was the fact that I was at a ladies conference where there were workshops and speakers and worship and…bottom line…I came home blessed (exhausted and blessed!!).

Monday I worked so very hard on my cabin…so hard I just collapsed at the end of the day but…hard work + aching bones = satisfaction and good rest.  A couple of years ago a friend and I put insulation up under the cabin then we covered it with a black outdoor fabric to hold it all in place…right?   Well, the rats moved in and it was the biggest mess.  We had to redo all of that insulation, add more, piece the black fabric back over it and then…the hard part…cover it with a wire mesh cover (don’t know what it’s called).  It’s so heavy and we have to cut it to fit with wire cutters then nail & staple in place.  We’ll finish it up this morning!  Yeah!

I took a break from that yesterday to spend the day in the kitchen with my mom.  We had fun and were VERY productive.

a day in the kitchen with mom

a day in the kitchen with mom

Here are some pictures from our day:

simmering for hours so it can cook down.

simmering for hours so it can cook down.

ready to hit the shelves

ready to hit the shelves

Chili sauce is something that my Grandma Carpenter started making in the early 70’s.  We used it on our tacos and it’s been passed on from generation to generation.  Some of us can’t have tacos without it.

Then we moved on to apple pie filling

I picked every apple off of the tree {& off the ground} that I could find.

I picked every apple off of the tree {& off the ground} that I could find.

apple pie filling   Yum! Yum!

apple pie filling Yum! Yum!

Then to celebrate “the making of chili sauce”, we invited every family member we could find (we ended up with 15) to come for a taco dinner complimented with apple pie and ice cream…oh yeah…and fresh salsa!  YUMMO!

It was a good day – now back to  hard work!

September 24, 2008 - Posted by | family, garden, home life, just plain fun, soldered charms

5 Comments »

  1. Sounds like a fun taco feed. I was sorry to miss conference. We have been having 24/7 prayer here at the church and I could not get away for that long. Today is our last day and there has been someone in the prayer room every hour for the past 9 days. I can’t even describe how wonderful the experience has been. Have a blessed day!

    Comment by Cyndi | September 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’m sad I didn’t get to experience the aroma of chili sauce wafting through the entire home for 24 hours 🙂 Definitely one of my favorite smells!!

    If I come home for Thanksgiving, can we have tacos? 😉

    Comment by Lauren | September 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. Man O man, I would have drove across the state for that one.

    Comment by Wendy Girl | September 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. great charms. like the photography of them all.

    http://www.allhercharm.com

    Comment by ihatetheredskins | September 25, 2008 | Reply

  5. Oh my goodness,i love your homefresh blog! It’s one of the most wonderful blogs that I’ve read!
    Love your home and cabin and all the fresh picked goodness in your life! I too am one of those pet lovers!
    Thank you for your comment on my blog and suggestion of paint color. I will go check it out now!
    Goodluck in my drawing~I will post the goodies today…last night there was a leak (flood!) under the kitchen sink, so I didn’t post the pics as intended!
    You are on my bloglist now!
    Hugsxx
    Tina

    Comment by Tina | September 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

