Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Domesticity!

Have I mentioned that I am so glad to be home???  This is the first piece I made when I got home.

measures 4 1/2" x 6" and sells for $35.00

I’ve been enjoying my garden and we’ve been eating out of it for every meal.  There is very little being spent at the grocery store right now – Oh, to be able to say that year round.

I don’t really want this flower picture to be deceiving.  These are really the only 3 pretty flowers I have in my whole garden and  I have several more sunflowers that are almost ready to bloom.  Zinnias are one of my favorite flowers and I would love to have lots more next year.

Cash was helping me pick beans in the garden and then he decided that it was just easier to take them out of the bucket.  Doesn’t he look so innocent?   He’s so funny in the garden.  We haven’t let him in since we planted it because he’s such a nuisance but now when I let him in, he picks various things and eats them or plays with them.  He loves the plums that are falling to the ground.

Days like these are amongst my favorites as I combine work around the house, garden and my {vintage charm} business.  The mornings/evenings are cool with the days reaching mid 70’s complimented with a beautiful blue sky.  My dad, who has been a logger for 50+ years, is working close enough to the house where I can hear his chainsaw and cat running throughout the day and I love those sounds.

I’ve been trying to make soldered charms like crazy.  This soldered charm features a picture that is one of my favorites.  This cute little gal is making the most of a busy day as she hustles to get her groceries home.  She even has cute shoes on.  The word that kept coming to mind as I was putting this one together was “domesticity”.

soldered charm domesticity measure 1x1 1/2 ~ $20.00

soldered charm measures 1"x1 1/2" ~ $20.00

\ˌdō-ˌmes-ˈti-sə-tē,\noun ~ the quality or state of being domestic

The above charm picture was taken on a flour sack dish towel that belonged to my great grandma.  It’s thread-bare throughout, due to the years of domesticity that it experienced at the hands of grandma Alby.  It’s pretty awesome to have so much passed on throughout the generations; some my favorites being love of God, home, land and family.

September 11, 2008 - Posted by | garden, home life, soldered charms, vintage

4 Comments »

  1. I love it all!

    Keep blogging… makes me feel like I’m closer to you 🙂

    I miss that mischievous dog! He’s pretty darn cute it my opinion…

    Love you… Hope to see you soon!

    Comment by Lauren | September 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. very nice home plaque:)
    I bet you are enjoying solitude. I on the other hand am going CrAzY and re-decorating and organizing my house! uggh.. WHY can I not just harvest my garden OR sit down to do some soldering?
    Cash is sure cute… he and and Abby would make an adorable couple:) We are itching to have a wedding.. maybe we should host a canine one:) ha!
    Much Love!
    Trish

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | September 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. That Dog Cash, Man he is cute.
    I love it when my dogs stand on their hind legs and pick the huckleberries. Its so cute, reminds me of a bear.
    I love the charm too. The little girl is addorable.

    Comment by Wendy Girl | September 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. Love the Jane Austen quote:)

    Comment by Amber Rose | September 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

