Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

More Fair Fun and a give-a-way!

Wow!  I’m certainly in a different place right now….and it’s a happy place, even yesterday in the POURING down rain.  I had such a hard time leaving home but I’m loving it here and I certainly will be more than ready to get back home.  My tomatoes and apples should be going crazy and I can’t wait to see my corn, oh, and I really miss Mr. T, but it’s great to talk to him each day…I love my cell phone.

I’ve tried to do some ‘charming’ while I’m here and that’s been a great challenge.  Boy oh Boy!!! I can’t solder here.  I brought all my stuff and it’s just not turning out as good as it should.  Nothing’s as good as it is at home (at home is best)…which leads in to the unveiling of my give-a-way charm.  Talk about a challenge!  I made one the day  I mentioned I would (in the last post) and I lost it (a couple of times, actually, but the last time I never found it!!!), so yesterday I set out to make another and here are the results.

at home is best

at home is best

This charm features a picture of Annie Oakley – so much country sweetness here!

Today I walked around to capture a few of my fair favs on camera.  I wish there was a way to share some of the incredible scents that fill the air.  If you’ve every been to a county fair, take a moment now…take a deep breath and try to re-capture some of those fragrant memories!  Yum, yum!  I’m kind of doing my own fair food boycott this year, just because I’m spending so much time here (13-14 hr days~12 days in a row) and I don’t want to feel the repercussions (health & financial) :-).  Another favorite is the sounds.  Again, so hard to share.  I can’t even fully capture all of the sights but here are  few.

Just walking through the animal barns I find myself with this constant silly smile.  I love the animals and for
just a couple of you who faithfully read this online journal of mine, it won’t be any surprise that I have (somewhat secretly) wanted a cow for about 8 years.  Several years ago I was introduced to the breed of cow that I am most interested – Irish Dexter!  Just this morning we have had some come in to our beef barns and I really am in love!  (sorry Mr T – we need to talk about this, I know!…we have enough property now).  I met Stephanie briefly and I hope to talk more with her about these small, docile animals that produce great, lean beef and a wonderful milk supply (am I making any headway Mr T????).

There’s something about these animals that makes me melt…silly, and I can’t explain it.

I just met a delightful gal who belongs to what she and her gal-friends call a ‘chicken club’ – She just has 5 or so friends who all have chickens and they do fun things together.  Sounds like they get real creative and have too much fun.

Have a  happy, sunshiny day!

Oh ya!  I almost forgot to give a give-away update.  My next post will be my 100th so in honor of that, the above mentioned charm will be given away.  You just need to leave a comment and if you have a favorite fair memory, mention that too.  I’ll choose a winner tomorrow or the next day.

August 25, 2008 - Posted by | just plain fun, soldered charms

2 Comments »

  1. So, I definitely think you should get a cow. (And I’m not just saying that in order to win a fabulous charm.)
    Hope all is going well. I don’t think we’ll make it to the fair this year – we’re busy roofing our house.
    My favorite fair memory: several years ago David and Joe were going on rides and they saw a short line and ran to get on. What they didn’t realize, though, is that the ride went upside down while spinning around. Surprise! They both survived, but now they try to watch at least one cycle of the ride before getting in line.

    Comment by Deb Shirley | August 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. I love that little PIG in the corner.
    I think my family anticipates the baby pigs more than anything else at the fair.

    Comment by Wendy Girl | August 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

