Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Speaking of the Fair…

As a child I grew up going to a one-day fair.  It was so much fun.  Each year I was in 4-H and I would enter things that I had made like clothing and baked goods, and then a few months later I’d get a check in the mail for my ribbons.  WOW!  Those were the days.   ~Today I was able to visit that fair.  It was fun but it literally takes probably 30 minutes to see everything.  The parade was kinda cute and then at 12:00 they serve up a dynamite lunch.  It didn’t take many pics but here are a few.

I met up with my bf from K-9th gr.  We have kept in contact over the years but need to get better at it.

Next year I want to enter the cross-cut saw competition for gals – I came real close today but couldn’t find a suitable partner (I’ve got one already picked out for next year).

I have enjoyed reading some of your comments regarding great fair-time memories.  Keep your comments coming in and you will be entered into a drawing! {read last post}

p.s. I’m sure proud of my #1 (firstborn) girl.  She transitioning right now.  I’m sad that she’s gonna be an additional 6 hours away but if she’s following the plan that she believes God has for her life then I’m OK with her being that far and farther.  Check out her blog.  I’ve been blessed with two great girls ~ they have a way of getting to this mama’s heart.

August 16, 2008 - Posted by | family, friends, just plain fun

4 Comments »

  1. Fair memories…oh I have soooo many! Growing up in a small town, the fair was a really BIG deal…so we started working for fair money months before. My Nan & Papa owned vineyards, and every year (until they sold the ranch) we worked the fields for fair money. We cut, layed out trays, rolled, drove tractor, shaked, and boxed. I learned more in my younger years than I can tell you. It was hard work, but every single one of us grandkids (12 of us) know exactly what earning a days wage is all about. When fair time approached, we had lots of cash to burn, and new outfits to boot! Small town fairs…you just gotta love’em!

    Comment by Charity | August 16, 2008 | Reply

  2. Is this like the shindig kinda?
    I think the little ones are almost as fun as the big ones.
    I will be praying for you and your number one girl.
    I am really excited for her.

    Comment by Wendy Girl | August 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. Im looking forward to some fun FAIR times with you this next week! 🙂 Let’s get together and have a corn dog and some lemonade!
    Cant WAIT:)
    La~Te~Da

    Comment by La~Te~Da | August 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. Oh I love the fair! My memory is of getting those beautiful blue ribbons on my artwork, and veggies I could put in. Sweet times! Your daughters are so beautiful and I am off to check out your daughters blog now. Mine just left for college today, it still is sad after 3 years!

    Hugs,
    Teresa

    Comment by Teresa Sheeley ~ French Poppy | August 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

