Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

My new garden gate!

I mentioned that I thought I would be getting a new garden gate.  My friend and neighbor said he wanted to make one for us as part of an exchange (I got the best end of the deal!!!!).  I told him I really liked my weathered garden gate, it’s been faithfully doing its duty for 25 years and I am sentimental about EVERYTHING but I knew that I would be a fool to turn down this offer because I’ve seen his craftsmanship.  He couldn’t just design a gate though, he had to also change the landscape.  He said we needed to look at the whole picture with the garden entrance.   So…after giving a few of his days towards this; hauling in some dirt, scrounging some brick and placing a small amount of sod…here is the before and after.

old gate

new gate

Thanks Pat – what a beautiful job!!!!

He is going to continue making custom gates as he has the time.  He is salvaging old wood and repurposing it into beautiful and very functional garden gates.  Notice on this one that he even put an old door knob on it that is functional.  – I’m going to slip in a pic of another gate that he made and installed last week.

Anyone who lives in the Eastern WA vicinity can order their own custom gate!

Anyone who lives in the Eastern WA vicinity can order their own custom gate!

August 14, 2008 - Posted by | friends, garden, home life

3 Comments »

  1. Beautiful gate…kinda makes me want to plant a garden so I can have a fancy little gate of my own 🙂 I’ve enjoyed reading your blogs over the past few days…makes think of how much I love my family…

    Comment by Charity | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. I have GATE envy:) that is gorgeous!
    Hope you doing well… when are you coming???

    Comment by La~Te~Da | August 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. WOW!! Looks wonderful! I hope it keeps the deer and BEAR out;)

    Comment by Amber Rose | August 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

