Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

My first sighting!

Yesterday was a fun and full day and I didn’t have my camera.  So frustrating!

I mentioned that we were doing a salmon BBQ for our church and community.  Let me back up a little…as of January, my husband and I now pastor a little church in Hunters, WA.  There is a great story to go with that, but to keep it brief, this same church is the church I grew up in as a child…my dad pastored it and my grandpa built the building (with much help) that we meet in.  ~Mr T fishes is Alaska each year and each year we do a salmon BBQ at our church so this year we planned to do it again, at our new church, and we extended it to the community.  On Sundays we average between 40-50 people.  Yesterday we had between 70 & 80 and for the dinner we had 120+.  We were excited about the response and it was wonderful to feel the enthusiasm from others.  I love interacting with the women each week.  There is so much talk about home life, gardens, recipes, etc…   There is such a feeling of community.

In the evening, a friend (I think she might be a closet blogger) and I jumped on our motorcycles to head for the hills for huckleberries.  I had my first sighting for the year.  A few of you reading this blog will understand the ‘passion’ that goes with huckleberry season.  The hard core huckleberriers won’t whisper a word about where their ‘spot’ is and if they do then they might have to kill you so you won’t spread the word.  You’ve got to understand, these berries go for $50+ a gallon.   …anyway, we decided that we needed to find our own ‘spot’.  I wish, wish, wish I’d had my camera.  It was a beautiful adventure.  We did find berries and we need to go back to do some real picking.  We started our ride from her house and actually took logging roads and made our way to my house (hoping all the while that we were in the right place).  The sun was setting as we were on our way home.  Did I mentioned I wished I’d had my camera???   ~Now it’s time to go make sourdough pancakes with huckleberries for breakfast.

August 11, 2008 - Posted by | just plain fun

5 Comments »

  1. Huckleberries?
    Those look like blueberries!
    Are they a different color on your side of the Mountain?

    Comment by Wendy Girl | August 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. You are such a HARD core country girl! Sheeshh.. before you know it you will be taking out engines on the car and racing motor cross! You are funny.

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | August 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. I just wanted to stop by and say hi. Not sure if you remember me, but I quilted with you and your daughter at Ben Franklin. I was sad to hear that you guys had moved, but I’m sure enjoying your blog! I remember when you shared with me that you had started a blog and was a little shy about it. Well that has sure changed. You inspire me in many ways.

    Comment by Michelle | August 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. Fun day indeed!! I’m happy to hear about great turn out for the salmon BBQ AND your great ride up in the mountains!! Too fun!!

    Comment by Amber Rose | August 11, 2008 | Reply

  5. Fun…you inspire me to go and find my own Huckleberries! Now if I could only find a buddy to cycle up and around these hills with!

    Comment by Charity | August 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

