Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Sunday Inspiration!

Why should I feel discouraged, Why should the shadows come, Why should my heart be lonely and long for heaven and home, When Jesus is my portion? My constant friend is He; His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me – I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free, for His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

The meaning of these 1906 lyrics are still as true today as they were 102 years ago.  We will experience discouragement, shadows, loneliness…but Jesus is our portion and constant friend! This reminder absolutely brings tears to my eyes!  I need that kind of friend.

When we were making our transition and move this year, this song came on in my car on one of my trips over the mountains heading east.  I listened to the words and then I played it over and over and over again.  I fell in love with it and for weeks it just stayed with me.  At that time I felt it was one of God’s gifts to me during such an unsettling time.  I didn’t realize it was written so long ago…again, a timeless lyric!

#72 His Eye Is On The Sparrow~Wallflower!

I took these pictures using my first Bible.  I had to cross out someone else’s name to put mine in, but mine it is.  My name, written in 7-yr-old penmanship, is all over the Bible.

Today we’re having a community Salmon BBQ at our church (with the fish Mr T brought home from Alaska last week).  Our church averages about 40 and we are hoping for over 100 at this BBQ so I’ll let you know tomorrow how it went.

Have an awesome Sunday!!!!…I’m going to take a break from wildlife identification.

August 10, 2008 - Posted by | collage, faith, solder, vintage, Wallflower

1 Comment »

  1. O man…
    I am so Jealous.
    There is No Better Bar-B-Que than that Salmon from Alaska.
    And He knows how to bring it…
    I hope you all had a great day…

    Comment by Wendy Girl | August 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

