Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

See you later, sweet girl!

Well, I just said goodbye to my sweet daughter. Another bittersweet event in my life (I don’t think I can take too much more of the bittersweet). This is just another part of her journey, the journey that began on May 10, 1988. I should be smiling, not crying…right? We have been right along side her for these past, almost 20, years, making sure that she is ready for this day (or have we?…why do we always question this?) This really isn’t quite as dramatic as it feels. We’ll be following pretty close behind her and living about 1 ½ hours away but I know the reality…it just won’t ever be quite the same. I know that I’m saying goodbye to that cute little chubby girl and I’ll soon be greeting that young lady, knowing that I really need to treat her differently (which I have actually been working on for the past couple of years anyway), as the beautiful young woman of God that she has grown up to be. I won’t be picking up after her, cooking for her, doing her laundry or reminding her of the things that she ‘should be doing’ (maybe this is the ‘sweet’ part). But I will enjoy our friendship as it continues to grow and I can’t wait to see where God sends her in her ongoing journey of life. My prayers are always with her.

Actually, I need to look on the brighter side…I have her dog to keep me company! ;o)

Love you sweetie!

December 5, 2007 - Posted by | family

4 Comments »

  1. This is such a sweet picture, she looks alot like Sissy:)

    Comment by Amber Rose | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. And I’m sure Tripp enjoys your company just as much!

    I love you, and I know you’ve done an amazing ‘job’ with me! I miss you like crazy, and miss being able to leave my dirty dishes in the sink 😉

    You are an incredible mom, and I count myself blessed to be called your daughter.

    PS, everyone at work loves your charms!! Some of them even want you to teach them how to saulder!

    Comment by lifeofwonder | December 7, 2007 | Reply

  3. Well, I knew you would make me cry and you did. I remember that sweet, beautiful, wonderful little girl too. She has grown up to be everything we all knew she would be. I love having her here – I hope she will enjoy her time with us. Where have the years gone?

    Comment by Arlene | December 9, 2007 | Reply

  4. It really is a heartbreaking thing to have her so far away!! Such a sweet daughter. I can only hope and pray for such a one myself!!!

    Comment by Crayola Crayon | December 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

