Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Vintage Charm

Where do I start? A few years ago I decided that I wanted to learn how to make soldered charms but I didn’t have any idea where to start. I didn’t even take baby steps for the longest time…nothing was happening at all. Finally, I began to figure out some of the steps that were involved in making them. A friend showed me what was involved in soldering and told me that the supplies I needed could be purchased at a stained glass supplies’ store. That started my journey.

For years I have enjoyed collecting vintage items and decided that these would be a great element to complement the charms. I use cards, postcards, sheet music, wallpaper, fabric, photographs…anything I can fit between two pieces of glass. 😉

I started making charms in April ’07 and boy are those hard to look at. It really takes a lot of practice to do it very well but I’ve enjoyed the process a great deal. I went with my sis to a wonderful sale in July called the Vintage Barn Sale in Rathdrum, Idaho. Country Living magazine was there taking pics and working on an article for a future issue. It was a wonderful sale of antiques and primitives. I called Rolane, the gal who hosts the sale, a day or two later and asked if she might have room for my charms at her next sale. She said she had a waiting list of 10 but she would like to see them. Well, she loved them and said that she would make room for me. My goal was to make 500 for that sale and on Sept. 22 I arrived with 457. I sold about 60 that day (not just to family & friends) and had a blast!!! Rolane took them the following weekend to the Country Living Fair in Ohio and sold about 80. These two sales have definitely been my hi-lights as well as the many, many words of encouragement received by those dear family and friends. The Country Living spread comes out in the spring just before the next sale on July 8th. I can’t wait and I’ll be ready!

Here are a few pics


This week I’ve been working on Christmas ornaments that are about 1 1/2 x 2 1/2

So, there you have it. Hopefully, this is more wordy that any other blog that I share. I enjoy pics so much more, but I had to share this little story…this little part of my life.

Thanks for listening! …Tink

November 8, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. I love the pic’s of your work space!! Makes me want to create:) Miss you ton’s and keep up the blogging!
    I’m sitting here with a cup o joe pretending I’m just up the road. Zach and I are praying for you:)

    Comment by Amber Rose | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  2. LOVE the Christmas charms, very cute.

    Comment by Amber Rose | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  3. do you have a web site or an etsy site that we can order a necklace? i love them and would love to give some as gifts. thanks in advance!

    Comment by Natalie | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. Such beautiful work by such a beautiful “Tinker-belle” with incredible verve!! You are amazing, my friend, and your artistry is gorgeous. Love this website…love you!! ~J

    Comment by Jodi | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  5. Looks like the Farm Chicks have the same idea with the charms as you. Check their web site

    Comment by Joy Fishley | March 27, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

