Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

More family history…

#21 & #22 – 1″ Life Sampler – dress form & birdcage

When I was a little girl I loved to go to my great grandparent’s house.  It was just so old and I loved that.   I loved tromping around in the rustic ‘outdoors’ and the two rooms inside that were my favorite were the guest room and the attic.  The two things that I remember admiring the most in the attic were my grandma’s dress form and her old bird cage.

I have had her dress form in my possession now for many years.  It is handmade.  The main part is made from a paper mache’ and stuffed with old newspaper.  My grandma probably did that herself and I’m sure that my grandpa made the frame for her.

I lovingly call her Mergatroid {Mergy}.  I wish I had named her Sophie, after my gr. grandma but Mergy stuck many years ago and I can’t change it now!  ;-)

My great grandpa filed a claim to homestead that land at the age of 21.  The homestead was finalized in 1914 and signed by our president, Woodrow Wilson.   They were true pioneers and knew what it was like to live off of the land.

That property is about 10 minutes from where I now live.

March 26, 2010 Posted by | 1" Life Sampler, family | 8 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers