Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

the singing bowes…

I mentioned in this post that I would tell you a little more about singing with my brother and sister while I was growing up.  So, here in my 17th block of my 1″ Life Sampler, I’ll share a little more and include pictures.

My embroidery attempts here look a bit frightening but keep in mind that this is 1″…yes, 1″…and on a smaller scale it doesn’t look so bad.

circa 1971 - Mother's Day Tea - Columbia High School - Hunters WA

Here, however, is the real deal.  Oh, how I wish this was in color and you could see my adorable red, shiny shoes.  Actually, we were wearing red, white and blue and performing at our school (K-12) for their Mother’s Day program.

circa 1968 ...with my sweet grandpa looking on

I had to include this picture because it was nearly impossible for me to sing without grabbing my dress and drawing it up.    Our clothes were generally all home-made by our dear mom.

I can’t even begin to imagine her diligence and determination as she taught us to sing.  By the time we were 6,7 & 10, we were singing 3-part harmony…and we sounded pretty good…

…not to mention, quite adorable!

We were asked to sing often around our community.  And, we were conveniently mobile since my mom could play the piano as well as the accordion.

OK…I’ll throw in this last one!

If you haven’t left a comment on my last post, go there to be entered into the give-a-way!

March 22, 2010 - Posted by | 1" Life Sampler, family

12 Comments »

  1. Hey, thats our wedding 1979!! You guys were awesome, then and now!!!

    Comment by Laurie | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. Elaine, this was awesaome! How funny yet great!

    Comment by shari | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. This is the cutest thing I have seen all day! I love the matching outfits!

    Comment by Megan Gerrity | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. Seriously laughing really hard right now..you know you could have had a VERY different career with the whole dress/singing act..good thing you married into the ministry!! Fun post!!!

    Comment by amberrose | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. Loved this post – how did our Mom make us do that?? That took some perserverence on her part, I’m sure. But it was valuable training and I’m thankful for it. Singing is one of my very favorite things in the world.

    Comment by Arlene | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  6. Oh my, I just got the chuckles, especially Ron’s mustache in that final picture……I love this post! :-)

    Comment by Kim | March 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Any day I can give someone the chuckles, is a good day! :-) >

      Comment by Elaine | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  7. I love what you’re doing with the sampler – creating a stitchery of great memories! Thank you for sharing the stories behind them. My mom played the piano and accordion too! No singing for us growing up, though I sing in church now. Love the matching outfits too (my mom sewed some as well!). Have a great week!

    Comment by Sharon in FL | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. Memories of the past how grand they are.

    Comment by Pat | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  9. Your Mom is not the only one who is creative! I love your sight. The pictures are a hoot and remind me of my own 3 kids. Thanks, Arlene, for sharing your sister’s site.

    Comment by Pat Weston | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  10. Lovely, lovely pictures from my stash!!! Those were the days, some of my favorite. Thanks for reminding me. Love you lots!

    Comment by Dolly May | March 24, 2010 | Reply

  11. It is quite uncanny how similar our growing up years were. I too was the youngest of three: a brother, sister and I. Except that my sisters hair was darker than your sisters these could be our pictures…Oh, except that we didn’t sing!! Clothes and hairstyles are just about the same…and those little “red” shoes are adorable. Don’t you just wish you could find some like that to wear now?! Julie

    Comment by Julie, berry farm girl | March 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

