Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

the singing bowes…

I mentioned in this post that I would tell you a little more about singing with my brother and sister while I was growing up.  So, here in my 17th block of my 1″ Life Sampler, I’ll share a little more and include pictures.

My embroidery attempts here look a bit frightening but keep in mind that this is 1″…yes, 1″…and on a smaller scale it doesn’t look so bad.

circa 1971 - Mother's Day Tea - Columbia High School - Hunters WA

Here, however, is the real deal.  Oh, how I wish this was in color and you could see my adorable red, shiny shoes.  Actually, we were wearing red, white and blue and performing at our school (K-12) for their Mother’s Day program.

circa 1968 ...with my sweet grandpa looking on

I had to include this picture because it was nearly impossible for me to sing without grabbing my dress and drawing it up.    Our clothes were generally all home-made by our dear mom.

I can’t even begin to imagine her diligence and determination as she taught us to sing.  By the time we were 6,7 & 10, we were singing 3-part harmony…and we sounded pretty good…

…not to mention, quite adorable!

We were asked to sing often around our community.  And, we were conveniently mobile since my mom could play the piano as well as the accordion.

OK…I’ll throw in this last one!

If you haven’t left a comment on my last post, go there to be entered into the give-a-way!

March 22, 2010 Posted by | 1" Life Sampler, family | 12 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers