Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

Bittersweet turned sweet!

Many of you understand the ‘thrill’ of the search for a treasure.

Treasures that come in a variety of shapes, sizes, colors, textures and values.

Some of these treasures have value that can be felt only by the new owner…a value that can’t be measured by the standard of anyone else.

I recently {Saturday} came across just such a treasure.  A family photo album dating 1918-1934. For most people it would seem odd to develop a connection with a family that lived so long ago, where there was no personal connection whatsoever.

It’s hard to explain.

It partly comes from my own love and devotion to family…that penetrates through many generations.

It also comes from a love and devotion to things of the past…clothing, shoes, homes, loving families, mannerisms as well as the colors and textures that come from the wonderful old black and white and sepia-toned photos.

As I have looked through this album over and over, dreaming of the wonderful creations that I could make with these beautiful photographs {scanned and copied, of course}, I began to feel as though this album didn’t belong to me.

With family names very prominent throughout the album, it took Mr T & I about an hour to find a possible family name with an e-mail contact.

It took just a short bit to receive a reply verifying that we had indeed found the right family.

♥ bitter sweet ♥

These two ‘tea-time’ pictures are some of my favorites.


Bill is the grandfather of the man who I am in contact with.

Here is a photo of all of the children from the family.

I’m sure that you can hear in my tone that it’s wonderful and difficult all at the same time to part with this new-found treasure but when it was mentioned in one of the e-mails today that this is ‘an unexpected Christmas blessing’, the bitter was removed from the sweet and it just became sweet!

December 28, 2009 - Posted by | vintage

18 Comments »

  1. How wonderful! I knew there was someone out there if you could find them.

    Comment by Dolly may | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. It is so good of you to contact the family as you have!! Wonderful pictures!!

    Comment by Teri Carlson | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh my Elaine, this chokes me up! How neat for the family!!! A few months ago I found a picture on ebay of all places of my Grandpa as a toddler…he grew up in Western WA…someone bought a bunch of pictures from an antique dealer then was selling the pictures on ebay…my Grandpa had a VERY unusual name, I had googled his name one day and this picture came up on ebay…I called my mom, sent her the link to the photo and agreed, it was my sweet Grandpa 18 months old. :) My Grandpa has been gone 8 years next month. I miss him so. My brother and SIL are having a boy in February and in honor of my Grandpa using his name as a middle name for my nephew, I gave them the picture…

    Comment by kristine hanson | December 28, 2009 | Reply

    • That’s a great real-life story, Kristine! >

      Comment by Elaine | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. BTW…my mom loved the charm! I will be in touch about gettin another one made and an additional one of my mom’s other brother and her family as a child on the other side!

    Comment by kristine hanson | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. Elaine, that is really awesome! What a VERY “sweet” gift to give to a family… returning such precious and timeless photos… Very cool story!

    Comment by Michelle | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. Elaine, how awesome you found such a treasure, and then to find the family…sounds like right out of a movie to me. I don’t know about you, but I love to stare at old photos and check out every detail. I sometimes wish I could step into the picture.

    Comment by Kathy Walker | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  7. Oh my Elaine, I can see how hard it would be to part with such gorgeous pictures, I just love the tea time ones too, and the little ‘grandfather’ in his adorable little suit – but what a treasure this will be to the family!!! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas my friend – hugs to you xo

    Comment by jenny | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  8. What an amazing gift you are able to bestow on the “rightful” family. The keeper of the album had great foresight in labeling the photos with such care…she could have never imagined the events that would transpire…but God knew. It took someone caring and selfless to search out descendants of those pictured. God knew that, too.

    What a blessing all around!

    oxo

    Comment by Judy | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  9. soo sweet:)

    Comment by amberrose | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  10. Hi Elaine,
    Beautiful post! Blessings to you and your family & our very best to you in 2010. Glad & Cel/Junebug

    Comment by Glad & Celia/Junebug | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  11. I love old photos too! What an amazing find! And even more amazing that you located the family and are giving them such a wonderful gift.

    Comment by Alice | December 31, 2009 | Reply

  12. How very generous of you. Look how God is using you to restore a blessing to this family! What a wonderful story. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Comment by VintageBethie | January 1, 2010 | Reply

  13. Awesome story, Elaine–and so good of you to part with this treasure so the people with flesh and blood ties could re-connect with their past. Oh the stories those pictures could tell. . ..

    Comment by Don Detrick | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  14. […] am writing this as a follow-up to this post.  If you haven’t read it please take the time to do […]

    Pingback by The rightful owner… « Tinker Verve | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  15. This is such a sweet story. I’m off to read the follow up!

    Comment by craftapple | June 30, 2010 | Reply

    • It really was one of those sweet ‘happenings’ that felt like it happened for a reason…

      Comment by Elaine | July 1, 2010 | Reply

  16. I recently obtained a leather gym bag full of old pictures. You have inspired me to dig deeper and find family it belonged to.
    thank you Pastor Joe Kiehn Freelife Assembly

    Comment by Joseph W Kiehn | November 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

