Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

new idea…turned reality~

table/bench

I have a friend who challenges me to move in directions that are slightly out of my comfort zone.  However, she has a way of making them seem easy.

She’s gifted in nearly every area that I’m not.

Chances are she’s even gifted in many areas where you aren’t.

As a matter of fact, she owns a back hoe and a dump truck, she can tear apart just about any motor, carburetor and a variety of other things…she can build, wire, plumb and I could go on and on.  Yesterday we went to pick up a 250 gallon fuel tank, with stand, and the poor 80-something-year-old lady said, faintly…”are there just you two girls here”.  My answer was, “yep…just us two girls!”…knowing that with Diane we could absolutely load that thing by ourselves.

We’ve decided that dump diving might be our new thing.  Because of my admiration for the Farm Chicks I told her that we could be the ‘Dump Chicks’ but after doing further research {my thesaurus & looking up gals} I decided that ‘Doxy Dump Divers’ might just work.  Our dumps of choice happen to be those that are near old homesteads.

We picked up a load of barn board this week from a 100-yr-old barn that she helped take down a couple of months ago.

Like I said, she keeps me challenged and, when I have time, I love it.

I’ve been thinking about the above pictured table/bench for a while.  Handling those barn boards made me think about it more.  Yesterday we spent a little over an hour and had it done and then this afternoon I added the paint.  Really, it looks exactly like I expected it to.  I’d like to make about 20 more…

bench/table

September 5, 2009 - Posted by | friends, new creations, painting, vintage, wood creation

3 Comments »

  1. I love it you did an awesome job! Thank you for the nice compliments! I am just a good bluffer though until I get in over my head!

    Comment by Diane | September 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. WHAT? HAMMY COMMENTED ON YOUR BLOG AND NOT MINE??? NOT OK!!

    Comment by zstrehle@hotmail.com | September 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. I am wondering if you would be interested in the Coeur d’Alene craft Faire as a vendor. I saw you at the barnyard fair. Let me know and I can forward some info to you

    Denise

    Comment by Denise | September 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

