Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

my Mary Jane experience~

Yesterday, my involvement in Mary Jane’s Farm Fair was wonderful, for many different reasons.

Miss Mary Jane ButtersHaving an opportunity to meet Mary Jane was a hi-light ~ bare feet and all :-).  I walked up to her and said, with my hand held out for a handshake, “I would love to meet you!”  She grabbed me for a great big farmgirl hug, and proceeded to make me feel like she also would love to meet me.

She’s a sweet, beautiful lady and I mentioned in my last post that I have loved everything I’ve seen that she has had a hand in.  My favorite magazine is hers {thx. Mom for the gift-subscription}.  Printed on recycled paper, just the ‘feel’ of it makes me smile.  If you haven’t seen it, I highly encourage you to check it out.  Every page is thoughtful and beautiful.

Barron's Flour Mill

I have a lot of pictures to share.  It’s hard to describe the beauty of the area.  The backdrop was Mary Jane’s Barron’s Historic Flour Mill in Oakesdale, Washington.

flour mill

This was behind me…

scene

and this was in front.

inside MJ's tentA view inside a tent that was set up…

inside MJ's tent

…total Mary Jane style.

MJ's trailerHere is Mary Jane’s teardrop trailer ~ the perfect addition to begin your own glamping {glamour camping} adventure.

vintage charm

shots from my boothboots

boots

more boots

hankie nose-gays

aprons

charms

There were a lot of great vendors although I would have enjoyed even more of the home-spun, earthy, vintage feel woven throughout the choice of vendors.

There were also many other great attractions to enjoy.sheep girl

We enjoyed live animals, including horse rides…

entertainment

and wonderful entertainment all day long.

entertainment

face painting

families galore

darling girls enjoying their fresh-squeezed lemonade

One of the things I enjoyed so much about the day was that it was noticeably a family event.

grinders

I was so impressed with these beautiful, RED wheat grinders.  {when I unload my vehicle :-( I’ll find the address to link to these}

home made goat's milk soapand I bartered some charms for several of these gorgeous hand made bars of soap.

I hope these pictures show what a wonderful day this was – such a great family-friendly way to celebrate the 4th of July.

What they don’t show is how much work is involved.  I can’t even begin to describe with my own words how exhausting this job is.  I always feel that I give the same response {sorry for this} to my friends/family when they ask, “How did you do?????” {each time they ask with such great enthusiasm}  My answer generally is…it was a great day – I loved being here – the people were wonderful – the event was beautifully organized – but….my sales were a little disappointing.  The bottom line is that when you have a cottage industry it’s nearly impossible to get paid for the time that’s involved.  Yesterday began @ 5am – we did set-up, sales and tear-down in the same day – I was quite blessed to have my niece, Lindsey, there to help me.  Because I live about 2½ hours away from the event I pulled in @ home @ about 11:30 last night.  I was so tired I couldn’t even talk – I went straight to bed.  Luckily, on my drive home I had sunflower seeds, black licorice & coffee working their magic to keep me awake.

Oh, can I add here that it was a 95°.

Crazy as it sounds…I love what I do!

July 5, 2009 Posted by | favorite magazines, Mary Jane's Farm, show sales | 8 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers