Tinker Verve

creating with spirit & enthusiasm…often with great results

A Game Plan for {Normal}!?!?!….not sure what that means

Since December 20th we’ve been in ‘holiday mode’, which means… take it easy – play lots of games – go with the flow- play games – snack more – play games – excercise less – eat more – etc…..  We played 35-40 games.

-)

I added a few slash marks here and there so no one would feel bad... :-)

no more dull eveningsI should have posted this picture on the 20th because, as of today, we’re back to those dull evenings…sniff, sniff.  Truly it is bittersweet.  I am so very ready to try to find my ‘normal’ again ~ not that I actually even know what ‘normal’ is ~ in fact, it’s not uncommon for me to try to establish a new normal for myself, especially at the beginning of each year.  There are so many good {better, best} habits that need to be established in my life, and I have some plans to attack some of those…

  • …which is as good a time as any to reveal another ‘obsession confession’…
VINTAGE GAMES!

VINTAGE GAMES!

I am very drawn to vintage games.  I suppose part of that is because I spent a lot of time as a kid playing games…card games…board games…& never video games.  :-)  And it is such a wonderful, healthy way to spend time together. The ‘Authors’ game that you see on the top shelf is a game that I played as a kid with my uncle…a lot!  When I saw it at a g-sale, I was so excited because the only one I had ever seen was the deck we played with, so I snatched it up.

As I work my way into this ‘new normal’ that I’m dreaming about, I’m watching the snow fall heavy and fast and my heart is so full with love, laughter and wonderful memories that were shared with our children over the past few weeks.

January 6, 2009 - Posted by | collection, family, home life

7 Comments »

  1. I think the picture of the vintage games is one of my very favorites that you have posted. I loved that game, Authors. I want to come play with you!!

    Love you – let’s get together soon.

    Comment by Arlene | January 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. All these obsession confessions are really going to help you. Its good to get it all out in the open. But, I must say this is one of your “better” obsessions.. it really does beat the packing materials (millions of packing peanuts,yellow envelopes, etc.)that we threw away during the move.. ha!
    I would love to come play some of those games with you…boo hoo!

    Comment by LaTeDa Love | January 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. We love playing board games at our house, too. What I’de give to have some of those old, vintage games. I agree with the Dish…that’s one obsession you should hang on to:-)

    Comment by Charity | January 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. One of the highlights of our holiday was Bill joining us for a game of Monopoly. Us girls all love games but Bill, not so much. Anyway it is hard to get back to normal. Nicole and Melody have left and Karly will soon. It is already massively quieter and I miss it. We all enjoyed our holiday time together but the time has come to get back. So sad.

    Comment by Cyndi Anderson | January 7, 2009 | Reply

  5. What a cool collection! They’re all so graphic. With just the two of us here now…we mostly read. When our girls were still at home, it was different. It sounds like you had a really FUN holiday! :-)
    Neat blackboard too!
    Diane

    Comment by Diane | January 7, 2009 | Reply

  6. WoW what a cool collection! I love Pit. Our church used to have Pit and popcorn game nights when I was little – such fun! I haven’t seen that game in so long. Love your photo!
    -Karoline

    Comment by Karoline | January 8, 2009 | Reply

  7. Do you have enough anagram games??
    ;)
    <3 you!

    Comment by Lauren | January 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

